9 New CNCC Members

Poots welcomes new appointments to the Council for Nature Conservation and the Countryside (CNCC)

Image via DAERA

Environment Minister Edwin Poots has announced the appointment of nine new members to the Council for Nature Conservation and the Countryside (CNCC):

Amit Bhagwat, Ms Clare Dore, Mr John Martin, Dr Stephen McCarron, Mr Ian McKee, Dr Michael Meharg, Miss Laura Neal, Mr Noel Rice and Mrs Rosemary Thomas.

The appointments to the DAERA Statutory Advisory Body are effective for a three year term from 1 December 2021.

Confirming the new appointments, Minister Edwin Poots MLA said:

“The CNCC perform a key role in providing expertise to DAERA policy makers in nature protection.

“I want to welcome the new CNCC members who bring an array of knowledge, skills and experience, not only in matters relating to the environment and the countryside, but also in governance, leadership and decision making, which are essential in executing the valued statutory functions of the CNCC.”

CNCC’s statutory functions include advising the Department on matters relating to nature conservation including Areas of Outstanding Natural Beauty, Areas of Special Scientific Interest and nature reserves.

It also provides advice on the protection of wildlife species and on promotional and educational activities.

Read full article here.

Read more

NIEL Mailing List

If you are interested in receiving NIEL's monthly newsletter please enter your details here:

Newsletter Sign Up