Cookie Policy

We use cookies to make our website effective and useful for you. To continue, please accept the use of cookies.

I accept

How we use cookies

Northern Ireland Environment Link Logo
 

News

 

Events

 

Nov 2017 right left

  
01
02

Storytelling by the Fire

Friday 3rd November
Florence Court
Adult £15

Autumn Garden Walk

Saturday 4th November
Mount Stewart
Adult £10, Child £5

Jo’s Walks — The building of Murlough: Part 1

Saturday 4th November
Murlough NNR, Keel Point, Dundrum entrance
No Charge, Donations Welcome

05

Changing Landscapes: Protecting the environment in a new Europe

Monday 6th November
Dynamic Earth, Edinburgh

Heritage Angel Awards 2017 – Featuring ‘Heritage in Song’!

Tuesday 7th November
Grand Opera House, Belfast BT12 4GN
Free

ESRC Festival of Social Science – SMEs meeting the climate change challenge

Tuesday 7th November
110 Victoria Street, Belfast BT1 3GN
See website for details

08

Key issues for energy policy in Northern Ireland: security of supply, the single energy market and the future for renewables

Thursday 9th November
TBC, Belfast
See website for details

The Future of the UK Environment: delivering health and wellbeing over the next 25 years

Thursday 9th November
Aston University, Birmingham
See website for details

10

BTO NI Conference

Saturday 11th November
Lough Neagh Discovery Centre
see above

Path Maintenance & Scrub Control

Sunday 12th November
Bog Meadows Nature Reserve Belfast
Free

13
14
15
16

How GDPR will impact your organisation

Friday 17th November
Rural Community Network, 38a Oldtown Street, Cookstown, Co. Tyrone BT80 8EF
Free

Innovative Learning using GIS, ICT and Fieldwork

Saturday 18th November
Tollymore Field Studies Centre
£45 including lunch

Have a go: Dry Stone Walling

Saturday 18th November
Strangford Lough
No Charge, Donations Welcome

Creative Writing Workshop

Saturday 18th November
Mount Stewart
£19

Family Festive Film Fun

Saturday 18th November
Rowallane Garden
Normal Admission, Members Free

19
20

UK Farming and the Environment Post–Brexit

Tuesday 21st November
TBC, Central London
See website for details

BRICK Workshop 33, Hillsborough Castle

Tuesday 21st November
Hillsborough Castle
£19, bursaries available

22

ASCENT Workshop

Thursday 23rd November
Tollymore National Outdoor Centre, 32 Hilltown Road, Bryansford, Newcastle
Free

24

NIEA Conference on Water Framework Directive – Future Partnerships

Saturday 25th November
College of Agriculture Food & Rural Enterprise (CAFRE), Greenmount Campus, 45 Tirgracy Road, Antrim BT41 4PS
Free

Crafted

Saturday 25th November
Castle Ward
Normal Admission, Members Free

Hedge Maintenance

Sunday 26th November
Gilford Castle, Gilford Co Armagh
Free

World Forum on Natural Capital 2017

Monday 27th November
Edinburgh International Conference Centre, Edinburgh
See website for details

Scrub Clearance & Conserving the Cryptic Wood White Butterfly

Monday 27th November
Lough Neagh Discovery Centre
Free

28

Action Renewables Energy Association – Hydrogen Economy Seminar

Wednesday 29th November
The Doyen, 829 Lisburn Road, Belfast BT9 7GY
See website for details

30
  
Previous Month

2020

Previous Month

January

  
01
02
03
04

Wildlife Garden Work

Sunday 5th January
Derryanvil, near Portadown
Free

06
07
08

Repowering Democracy? Community participation in the energy transition

Thursday 9th January
Canada Room and Council Chamber, Lanyon Building, Queen’s University Belfast, University Road, Belfast BT7 1NN

10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18

Scrub Control & Path Work

Sunday 19th January
Balloo Wetland & Woodland Bangor
Free

20
21

BIMcert – Reducing the Energy footprint in the Construction Sector

Wednesday 22nd January
Titanic Belfast Building, 1 Olympic Way, Queen’s Road, Titanic Quarter, Belfast, BT3 9EP
Free

What can your business do to reduce plastic waste?

Thursday 23rd January
Northern Ireland Advanced Composites Engineering Centre, NIACE, Airport Road, Belfast BT3 9DZ

24
25
26
27

Environmental Conservation Careers Fair

Tuesday 28th January
School of Biological Sciences, Queen’s University Belfast

Delivering Sustainable Housing and Communities

Wednesday 29th January
1 Northumberland Avenue, London, WC2N 5BW

Adapting Historic Buildings for Climate Change

Thursday 30th January
Riddel Hall, Queen’s University Belfast, 185 Stranmillis Road, Belfast BT9 5EE

Feeding the City 2020 – Ideation Workshop

Thursday 30th January
Loveworks, Macrory Centre, 130 Duncairn Gardens, Belfast BT15 2GL
Free

31
 

February

     
01

Tree Maintenance

Sunday 2nd February
Kilmacrew House, near Banbridge
Free

03
04
05
06
07
08

Scrub Control

Sunday 9th February
Brackagh Moss Nature Reserve, near Portadown
Free

10
11
12

NI Science Festival (13–23 February 2020)

Thursday 13th February

Creating Quality Outdoor Experiences

Thursday 13th February
Privy Council Chamber, Hillsborough Castle and Gardens, The Square, Hillsborough BT26 6AG
£50

14
15
16

The climate emergency: Your questions answered

Monday 17th February
Kings Place, London, N1 9AG
£20 plus £1.51 booking fee. Partners/Patrons save £5.26 (20% off and no fees)

18
19

GSNI Science Strategy

Thursday 20th February
Crumlin Road Gaol Visitor Attraction and Conference Centre, 53–55 Crumlin Road, Belfast BT14 6ST

21
22

Habitat Management

Sunday 23rd February
Bog Meadows Nature Reserve, Belfast
Free

24
25
26

BelFast Forward 2020 Conference

Thursday 27th February
Assembly Buildings Conference Centre
£25 – £150

28

Ballynature Day

Saturday 29th February
Ballynure Village
Free

Ballynature Day

Saturday 29th February
Ballynure Village, near Ballyclare, Co. Antrim

March

      
01
02
03
04
05

Planning for a Resilient Future

Friday 6th March
Ulster University, York Street, Belfast BT15 1ED
£5 – £7

07

Woodland Management

Sunday 8th March
Saintfield Estate, Saintfield
Free

09

Lough Neagh Conference

Tuesday 10th March
Lough Neagh Discovery Centre, Oxford Island National Nature Reserve, Craigavon BT66 6NJ

11

Climate Change – Our Challenge

Thursday 12th March
Killeavy Castle Hotel and Spa

Be A Saint Day

Friday 13th March
Business in the Community, Paulett Avenue, Belfast BT5 4HD

Evening Social Event in Belfast

Saturday 14th March
TBC
TBC

WOW Family Wildlife Day

Saturday 14th March
RSPB Belfast’s Window on Wildlife, 100 Airport Road West, Belfast BT3 9ED
£0 – £6.42

Slash and Burn: can mining extract us from the climate crisis?

Saturday 14th March
Hill of the O’Neill, Ranfurly House Arts and Visitor Centre, 26 Market Square, Tyrone BT70 1AB

15

Energy and CleanTech Forum

Monday 16th March
Barrool Suite, Legislative Building, Finch Road, IM1 3PW Douglas, Isle of Man

17

How Technology is Impacting Agriculture

Wednesday 18th March
Ormeau Baths, 18 Ormeau Avenue, Belfast BT2 8HS

Northern Ireland Seabird Report Launch

Wednesday 18th March
Bangor Castle, Castle Park Road, Bangor BT20 4BT

Climate Change Conference

Thursday 19th March
QUB School of Biological Sciences, 1–33 Chlorine Gardens, Belfast BT9 5AJ

20

Tree planting party at Balloo

Saturday 21st March
Balloo Woodland, Balloo Avenue, Bangor BT19 7QZ

Habitat Management

Sunday 22nd March
Balloo Wetland & Woodland, Bangor
Free

23

Responding to Our Planetary Emergency: The Crucial Decade Ahead

Tuesday 24th March
Peter Froggatt Lecture Theatre 02/025, Queen’s University Belfast, University Road, Belfast BT7 1NN

The Climate Strikes and Public Activism: where do we go from here?

Wednesday 25th March
St Mary’s University College Belfast, 191 Falls Road, Belfast BT12 6FE

Empowering Change Makers: Plastic Unwrapped

Wednesday 25th March
W5 Belfast

Outdoor Recreation NI Conference 2020

Thursday 26th March
CAFRE Greenmount Campus, Co. Antrim
TBA

27

Northern Ireland Allotment Social Farm and Community Garden Forum

Saturday 28th March
The Playtrail, Derry / Londonderry

What did you do about it? A family event to discuss the climate crisis

Saturday 28th March
Crescent Arts Centre, 2–4 University Road, Belfast BT7 1NH

29
30
31
    

April

  
01
02
03
04

Hedge Maintenance

Sunday 5th April
Kilmacrew House, near Banbridge
Free

06
07
08
09
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25

Habitat Management at Slievenacloy Nature Reserve

Sunday 26th April
Slievenacloy Nature Reserve, Belfast Hills
Free

27
28
29
30
  

May

    
01
02
03
04
05
06
07
08
09

Himalayan Balsam Control

Sunday 10th May
Rea’s Wood near Antrim
Free

11

Achieving net–zero emissions by 2050

Tuesday 12th May
Central London
£230 +VAT

13
14
15

RSPB NI Lough Erne Curlew Cruise 2020

Saturday 16th May
Rossigh Jetty, Enniskillen, BT94 1PF
£10.76 – £21.79

17
18
19
20
21
22
23

Bracken Control at the Whiterocks

Sunday 24th May
Whiterocks Sand Dunes, near Portrush
Free

25
26
27
28
29
30
31
      

June

01
02
03
04
05
06
07
08
09
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26

Wildflower Walk

Saturday 27th June
RSPB Portmore Lough 1 Georges Island Road Aghalee BT67 0DW
£5.68 – £6.95

28
29

Management of Extreme Events in Lakes and Catchments

Tuesday 30th June
Muirhevna Building, Dundalk Institute of Technology, Dundalk Institute of Technology, Dublin Rd., Dundalk, Ireland
€20 – €60

    

July

  
01
02
03
04
05
06
07
08
09
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
 

August

     
01
02
03
04
05
06
07
08
09
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
     

September

 
01
02
03
04
05
06
07
08
09
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
   

October

   
01
02
03
04
05
06
07
08
09
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31

November

      
01
02
03
04
05
06
07
08
09
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
     

December

 
01
02
03
04
05
06
07
08
09
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31