Cookie Policy

We use cookies to make our website effective and useful for you. To continue, please accept the use of cookies.

I accept

How we use cookies

Northern Ireland Environment Link Logo
 

News

 

Events

     

    Jul 2020 right left

      
    01
    02
    03
    04
    05
    06

    Energy Efficiency in Business

    Tuesday 7th July
    Online
    Free

    08
    09
    10
    11
    12
    13
    14
    15
    16
    17
    18
    19
    20
    21
    22
    23
    24
    25
    26
    27
    28
    29
    30
    31
     
    Previous Month

    2019

    Previous Month

    January

     
    01
    02
    03
    04
    05

    Woodland Management – Kilmacrew House, near Banbridge

    Sunday 6th January
    Kilmacrew House, near Banbridge
    N/A

    07
    08
    09
    10
    11
    12
    13
    14
    15
    16
    17
    18
    19

    Bog Meadows Nature Reserve – Scrub Control

    Sunday 20th January
    Bog Meadows Nature Reserve, Belfast
    N/A

    21
    22
    23
    24
    25
    26
    27
    28
    29
    30
    31
      

    February

        
    01

    Snowdrop Walks

    Saturday 2nd February
    The Argory Moy
    Normal Admission

    Woodland Management – Saintfield Estate

    Sunday 3rd February
    Saintfield Estate
    N/A

    04
    05
    06

    Public Money for Public Goods – Benefits for farmers, rural communities and the environment

    Thursday 7th February
    Seamus Heaney Centre, 45 Main Street, Bellaghy BT45 8HT
    Free

    08
    09
    10
    11
    12

    Tackling Food Waste: Protecting the Environment and Helping Society

    Wednesday 13th February
    De Vere Holborn Bars, 138–142 Holborn, London
    See website for details

    14
    15

    Nest Fest

    Saturday 16th February
    Springhill, Moneymore
    Normal Admission

    Path & Hedge Maintenance

    Sunday 17th February
    Bog Meadows Nature Reserve, Belfast
    N/A

    18
    19

    CEDaR Recorders Days – Belfast

    Wednesday 20th February
    Ulster Museum, Belfast
    Free

    21

    Dry Stone Walling

    Friday 22nd February
    Drumnaph Nature Reserve
    Free (lunch provided)

    Evening Social Event in Belfast

    Saturday 23rd February
    Belfast
    N/A

    24
    25

    Countryside Educational Visits Accreditation Scheme (CEVAS) Training (Therapeutic route)

    Tuesday 26th February
    Bradkeel Social Farm, Plumbridge, County Tyrone BT79 8BN 307
    £240 inc VAT

    27

    Irish Conference 2019 Wading into Water: The Assessment and Management of our Aquatic Environment

    Thursday 28th February
    Radisson Blu, Athlone
    CIEEM Member (Fellow, Full, Associate, Graduate) £125.00 CIEEM member (Qual or Retd) £75.00 CIEEM Student Member £30.00 Non Member Ticket £175.00 Student (not a CIEEM member) £50.00

    BITC Charity Learning Network

    Thursday 28th February
    Arthur Cox, Victoria House, 15–17 Gloucester St, Belfast
    £295 + VAT

      

    March

        
    01
    02

    Pond & Woodland Management

    Sunday 3rd March
    Rea’s Wood Antrim
    N/A

    04
    05
    06

    UN Sustainable Development Goals roundtable discussion: How can the SDGs support voluntary and community organisations’ work?

    Thursday 7th March
    NICVA, 61 Duncairn Gardens, Belfast BT15 2GB
    Free to NICVA members

    08

    Butterfly Conservation NI winter work party – Lagan Meadows

    Saturday 9th March
    Lagan Meadows, Lagan Valley Regional Park, Belfast
    Free

    10
    11

    Unpacking the Consultations: Extended producer responsibility for packaging, deposit return and plastics non–recycled–content tax

    Tuesday 12th March
    Belfast Metropolitan College, Titantic Quarter, Belfast BT3 9DT
    Free

    Green Infrastructure and Climate Change Conference 2019

    Tuesday 12th March
    The Guildhall, Shipquay Place, Derry~Londonderry
    See website for details

    13

    Energy Efficiency in Action – Policy and Practice

    Thursday 14th March
    The Guildhall, Guildhall Square, Derry~Londonderry BT48 6DQ
    Free

    Participatory Budgeting Works – What PB can do for Community Planning

    Thursday 14th March
    Lough Neagh Discovery Centre Conference Centre, Craigavon BT66 6NJ
    Free

    15
    16
    17
    18
    19

    Climate Change and the Historic Environment: A view from Scotland

    Wednesday 20th March
    Old Museum Building, 7 College Square North, Belfast BT1 6AR
    £10.00 – £15.00

    CEDaR Recorders Days – Limavady

    Wednesday 20th March
    Magilligan Field Centre, Limavady
    Free

    Breeding Bird Survey training (1–day, RSPB Portmore Lough)

    Thursday 21st March
    RSPB Portmore Lough Nature Reserve, George’s Island Rd, Gawley’s Gate, Aghalee, Co. Antrim BT67 0DW
    See website for details

    BITC Charity Learning Network

    Thursday 21st March
    Arthur Cox, Victoria House, 15–17 Gloucester St, Belfast
    £295 + VAT

    22

    Northern Ireland Raptor Study Group (NIRSG) Field Skills Training Workshop

    Saturday 23rd March
    Tollymore Outdoor Centre, Newcastle, Co. Down
    £20

    Knockbracken Allotments, South Belfast – Fencing

    Sunday 24th March
    Knockbracken Alltoments
    Free

    Breeding Bird Survey training (1–day, WWT Castle Espie)

    Sunday 24th March
    WWT Castle Espie, 78 Ballydrain Road, Co. Down BT23 6EA
    See website for details

    Nature Friendly Farmers’ Market

    Monday 25th March
    The Long Gallery, Stormont
    Free

    Breeding Bird Survey training (1–day, Marble Arch Caves, Enniskillen)

    Tuesday 26th March
    Marble Arch Caves Visitor Centre, 43 Marlbank Road Legnabrocky, Florencecourt, Enniskillen , Co. Fermanagh BT92 1EW
    See website for details

    27
    28
    29

    Breeding Bird Survey training (1–day, Oxford Island, Lough Neagh)

    Saturday 30th March
    Lough Neagh Discovery Centre, Oxford Island Nature Reserve, Annaloiste Road, Lurgan, Craigavon, Co. Armagh BT66 6NJ
    See website for details

    31
          

    April

    01
    02
    03
    04
    05

    Harper’s Yard Repair Cafe

    Saturday 6th April
    Ormeau Park Bowling Club, Belfast

    Kilmacrew House, near Banbridge – Hedge Maintenance

    Sunday 7th April
    Kilmacrew House near Banbridge
    Free

    A Long–term Environment Plan for Northern Ireland

    Monday 8th April
    Belmont Tower, 82 Belmont Church Road, Belfast BT4 3FG
    Free

    09
    10
    11
    12

    Would an Institute for Detectorists aid revision of The Treasure Act & implementation of The Valetta Convention?

    Saturday 13th April
    UCL Institute of Archaeology, 31–4 Gordon Square, London WC1H 0PY
    Free

    14
    15
    16
    17

    People, Planet, Prosperity, Peace and Partnership: Delivering the UN Sustainable Development Goals – What Role for the NI Voluntary & Community Sector?

    Thursday 18th April
    61 Duncairn Gardens, Belfast BT15 2GB
    Free

    All–Island Environmental Governance post–Brexit and the Good Friday Agreement

    Thursday 18th April
    Canada Room and Council Chamber, Lanyon Building, Queen’s University Belfast, Belfast BT7 1NN
    Free

    19

    Derryanvil near Portadown – Planting Young Trees

    Saturday 20th April
    Derryanvil near Portadown
    Free

    21

    Easter Monday Family Fun Day & Craft Fair

    Monday 22nd April
    Florence Court
    Normal Admission

    23
    24
    25
    26
    27

    Slievenacloy Nature Reserve, Belfast Hills – Scrub Clearance

    Sunday 28th April
    Slievenacloy Nature Reserve, Belfast Hills
    Free

    29
    30
        

    May

      

    The Smart and Green Building Show

    Wednesday 1st May
    Premier Publishing Ltd, Unit 51, Park West Entrprise Centre, Park West, Dublin 12
    Free

    02
    03
    04
    05
    06
    07
    08
    09

    Tiger Who Came to Tea

    Friday 10th May
    Rowallane Garden
    Normal Admission

    NI Social Farms & Gardens Annual Forum 2019

    Saturday 11th May
    The Duncairn Centre, Duncairn Avenue, Belfast BT14 6BP

    Knockbracken Allotments, South Belfast – Path Renovation

    Sunday 12th May
    Knockbracken Allotments South Belfast
    Free

    13
    14
    15
    16
    17

    An Evening Walk at a Scenic Location in the Belfast Area

    Saturday 18th May
    TBC
    Free

    Shared Heritage – Legacies of the First World War

    Saturday 18th May
    Various, see flyer for details

    19
    20
    21
    22
    23

    BioBlitz – Camphill Community Glencraig

    Friday 24th May
    Camphill Community Glencraig, 4 Seahill Road, Holywood BT18 0DB
    Free

    25

    Moyola Waterfoot Nature Reserve – Himalayan Balsam Control

    Sunday 26th May
    Moyola Waterfoot Nature Reserve
    Free

    27

    Free Environmental Skills Training Course for Undergraduate Students

    Tuesday 28th May

    Free

    Launch of the NBN Atlas Northern Ireland

    Wednesday 29th May
    Ulster Museum Belfast
    Free

    30
    31
     

    June

         

    Celebrating Forty Years of Grass Roots

    Saturday 1st June
    Saintfield Estate
    Free

    02
    03
    04
    05
    06
    07
    08

    Whiterocks Sand Dunes, near Portrush – Bracken Control

    Sunday 9th June
    Whiterocks Sand Dunes near Portrush
    Free

    10
    11
    12
    13

    BioBlitz – Castlewellan Forest

    Friday 14th June
    Castlewellan Forest Park
    Free

    15
    16
    17
    18
    19
    20

    BioBlitz – Jubilee Farm

    Friday 21st June
    Jubilee Farm, 50 Glenburn Rd, Glynn, Larne BT40 3JY
    Free

    22

    Rea’s Wood, Antrim – Himalayan Balsam Control

    Sunday 23rd June
    Rea’s Wood Antrim
    Free

    24
    25
    26
    27
    28
    29
    30
          

    July

    01
    02
    03
    04

    CEDaR Training Course – Garden Hoverflies

    Friday 5th July
    Lagan Classroom, UFTM, Cultra

    Comber Greenway Task Day

    Saturday 6th July
    Comber Greenway (see above for more detail)
    Free

    Redburn Country Park, Holywood – Garden Restoration

    Sunday 7th July
    Redburn Country Park
    Free

    08
    09
    10
    11
    12
    13
    14
    15
    16
    17
    18
    19
    20
    21
    22
    23
    24
    25
    26

    Wildlife Photography Course

    Saturday 27th July
    Lough Neagh Discovery Centre
    £75.00 for the 2 day couse lunch included

    28
    29
    30
    31
       

    August

       
    01

    CEDaR Training Course – Lake Habitats

    Friday 2nd August
    Blessingbourne Estate

    03
    04
    05
    06
    07
    08

    Inishowen, County Donegal – Drystone Walling

    Friday 9th August
    Inishowen, County Donegal
    TBC

    10
    11
    12
    13
    14
    15
    16
    17
    18
    19
    20

    CEDaR Training Course – Invasive Species

    Wednesday 21st August
    Cultra Manor, UFTM

    22
    23
    24
    25
    26
    27
    28
    29
    30
    31

    September

          
    01
    02
    03
    04
    05
    06
    07

    Brackagh Moss Nature Reserve, near Portadown – Scrub Control

    Sunday 8th September
    Brackagh Moss Nature Reserve, near Portadown
    Free

    09
    10
    11
    12
    13

    CEDaR Training Course – Slugs and Snails

    Saturday 14th September
    Crom Estate

    15
    16
    17
    18
    19
    20
    21

    A beach near Strangford, Co Down – Beachwatch

    Sunday 22nd September
    Strangford
    Free

    23
    24
    25
    26
    27
    28
    29
    30
         

    October

     

    9th IUCN UK Peatland Programme Conference – Peatlands: Investing in the Future

    Tuesday 1st October
    The Europa Hotel, Belfast
    See website for details

    02
    03
    04

    Comber Greenway Task Day

    Saturday 5th October
    Billy Neill crossing at 9am, Dundonald or on the greenway under North Road bridge at 9.30am, East Belfast
    Free

    06
    07

    NILGA Changing Places: Planning, Place–shaping and Place–making in NI

    Tuesday 8th October
    Killyhevlin Hotel, Enniskillen
    £60

    Northern Ireland Energy Forum 2019

    Tuesday 8th October
    La Mon, Belfast
    See website for details

    09

    Citigroup Environmental Expo

    Thursday 10th October
    Citigroup, Titanic Quarter, Belfast
    Free

    11

    Grass Roots AGM

    Saturday 12th October
    Newtownbreda Presbyterian Church Hall, Ormeau Road, Belfast
    Free

    13
    14
    15
    16
    17
    18

    CEDaR Training Course – Woodlice

    Saturday 19th October
    Crawfordsburn Country Park
    Free

    Maintaining a Young Hedge

    Sunday 20th October
    Kilmacrew House near Banbridge
    Free

    The Future of Food Packaging

    Monday 21st October
    CAFRE Loughry Campus, Cookstown BT80 9AA
    Free

    22

    Inaugural QUB Sustainability Lecture

    Wednesday 23rd October
    Peter Froggatt Centre/0G/007, Queen’s University Belfast
    Free

    Water Framework Directive Stakeholder Conference 2019

    Wednesday 23rd October
    College of Agriculture Food & Rural Enterprise (CAFRE), Greenmount Campus, 45 Tirgracy Road, Antrim BT41 4PS
    Free

    CEDaR Training Course – Grassland Fungi

    Thursday 24th October
    Magilligan Field Centre

    Enough is Enough – The Rise and Rise of Food Poverty

    Friday 25th October
    TBC, Belfast
    Free

    Scarecrow Festival

    Saturday 26th October
    Castleward
    Normal Admission

    Hidden Autumn Estate

    Saturday 26th October
    Crom
    Adult £15

    Spooky Springhill

    Sunday 27th October
    Springhill Moneymore
    Normal Admission. NT Members and under 5’s free.

    Valuing Nature Annual Conference 2019

    Monday 28th October
    Royal Society, London
    Free

    29
    30
    31
      

    November

        
    01
    02

    Woodland Management

    Sunday 3rd November
    Rea’s Wood Antrim
    Free

    Co–act for Climate

    Monday 4th November
    Canada Room & Council Chamber, Lanyon Building, Room 01/052, University Road, Belfast BT7 1NN

    05
    06

    Creating Our Sustainable Future

    Thursday 7th November
    Queen’s University Belfast, Canada Room and Council Chamber, Lanyon Building, University Road, Belfast BT7 1NN

    Linen Quarter Regeneration – Café Conversation

    Thursday 7th November
    Pug Uglys, 21 Bedford Street, Belfast BT2 7EJ
    Free

    Book Launch “Facing Up to Climate Reality: Honesty, Disaster and Hope”

    Friday 8th November
    Canada Room, Queen’s University Belfast, Belfast BT7 1NN
    Free

    09
    10

    Nature Based Solutions – Benefits that biodiversity can provide for organisations and communities

    Monday 11th November
    Belfast City Hall, Donegall Square North, Belfast BT1 5GS
    Free

    Overcoming Conflict in Marine Energy

    Monday 11th November
    Malone Lodge Belfast

    12

    Sustainable Heritage Tourism Conference 2019

    Wednesday 13th November
    Marine Hotel Ballycastle, 1–3 North Street, Ballycastle BT54 6BN

    The Power of Walking Conference

    Thursday 14th November
    Riddel Hall, Queen’s University Belfast
    Free

    15

    Mucky Route Repairs

    Saturday 16th November
    Cushendun, BT44 0PJ

    Path Clearing – 40th Anniversary Event

    Sunday 17th November
    Milford Cutting Co Armagh
    10am

    18
    19

    Great Autumn Clean–Up

    Wednesday 20th November
    Initially meet at Great Hall, Queen’s University Belfast

    Urban Green Roofs: Policy, Design, Climate, Resilience and Biodiversity

    Thursday 21st November
    David Keir Building Hub, Queen’s University Belfast

    NI Environment Strategy Discussion Workshop

    Thursday 21st November
    Rural Community Network Offices, 38a Oldtown Street, Cookstown, Co Tyrone BT80 8EF

    22

    Bramble Bash

    Saturday 23rd November
    Whitepark Bay, 152 Whitepark Road, Ballintoy BT54 6NH

    Return of the Hedges

    Saturday 23rd November
    White Park Bay, 152 Whitepark Road, Ballintoy BT54 6NH

    24
    25

    2019 NI Environmental Benchmarking Survey Results Launch

    Tuesday 26th November
    Belfast Harbour

    NICVA General Election 2019 Hustings Event

    Wednesday 27th November
    NICVA, 61 Duncairn Gardens, Belfast BT15 2GB

    Act on air pollution: Save lives

    Wednesday 27th November
    The MAC, 10 Exchange Street West, BT1 2NJ

    Hydrogen and Alternative Low Emission Fuels Seminar

    Thursday 28th November
    e3 Campus, 398 Springfield Road, Belfast BT12 7DU

    Climate Change, Decarbonisation and The Net Zero Report

    Friday 29th November
    Grand Central Hotel, Bedford Street, Belfast
    £0 Member. £50 (+VAT) non–Member

    30

    December

          

    Tree Maintenance

    Sunday 1st December
    Gilford Castle, Gilford Village, Co Armagh
    Free

    Placemaking for a Healthier Belfast

    Monday 2nd December
    Assembly Buildings, 2–10 Fisherwick Place, Belfast
    Free

    The UKERC project OverCoME (Overcoming Conflict in Marine Energy)

    Monday 2nd December
    Waterfront ICC Belfast

    Visitor Safety Group Managing Informal Mountain Bike Trails Workshop

    Tuesday 3rd December
    Tollymore National Outdoor Centre, Newcastle
    Free

    The Role of Energy Storage in a Sustainable Future

    Tuesday 3rd December
    CREST – Centre for Renewable Energy & Sustainable Technology – SWC, Lough Yoan Road, Enniskillen BT74 4EJ

    Building cyber resilience for small organisations

    Wednesday 4th December
    NICVA, 61 Duncairn Gardens, Belfast BT15 2GB

    NIEL AGM 2019

    Thursday 5th December
    RSPB’s Window on Wildlife, 100 Airport Road, Belfast
    Free

    06
    07
    08

    How wild is wild? Rewilding the island of Ireland

    Monday 9th December
    W5, 2 Queens Quay, Belfast BT3 9QQ
    £5.98 – £9.21

    BES Science Slam 2019

    Tuesday 10th December
    The Black Box, 18–22 Hill Street, Belfast BT1 2LA
    £10

    CFC Carbon Quiz – BES Annual Meeting Social Event

    Wednesday 11th December
    ICC Belfast, 2 Lanyon Place, Belfast BT1 3WH

    12
    13

    Making Environmentally Friendly Christmas Decorations

    Saturday 14th December
    South Belfast
    Free

    15
    16
    17
    18
    19
    20
    21
    22
    23
    24
    25
    26
    27
    28
    29
    30
    31